News Eintrag

Volksbank-Cup 2018: the participants are set!

This post is also available in: Deutsch (German)

The group of participants of the international U-19 football tournament in Stemwede is complete and again well worth seeing. 10 teams from Brazil, England, Russia and Scotland as well as from the German Bundesliga will fight for the title on May 10th– 12th 2018.

At the yearly helper’s party hosted by the tournament team and visited by more than 120 tournament helpers, special guests and the main sponsor Volksbank-Lübbecker Land which is now sponsoring the tournament the 15th times in a row the preliminary was drawn. The drawing was carried out by the local team coaches: Rödinghausens U-19 coach Daniel Lichtsinn and Mühlenkreis-Team coach Thorsten Bunde.

Ready for 2018: (from left) Uwe Becker (innogy), Daniel Lichtsinn (SV Rödinghausen), Wolfgang Rosengarten (Turnier Team), Marco Möhle (Volksbank Lübbecker Land), Thorsten Bunde (Mühlenkreis), Rainer Kröger, Christian Bäcker (both Turnier Team) Julia Vullriede (Lebenshilfe Lübbecke), Ingo Haremsa (Turnier Team), Horst Bohlmann (Lebenshilfe Lübbecke).

Both lucky fairies were assigned one of the two preliminary groups and after drawing a team it was their decision if they wanted to keep this team in their assigned group or give it away to the other group. The results: the Mühlenrkeis-Team will play the former tournament champion Red Bull Brazil, the Glasgow Rangers, Fulham FC as well as the double runner-up champion Hamburger SV in the “HARTING”-group. In the “innogy”-group SV Rödingshausen will play Tottenham Hotspurs, Lokomotive Moscow from this year’s world cup country Russia and the two Bundesliga clubs SV Werder Bremen and VfB Stuttgart. ”Last year’s result is difficult to improve, however, we will try our best” says Rödinghausen coach Daniel Lichtsinn who reached the semifinals with SV Rödinghausen at the Volksbank-Cup in 2017.

Similar to last year, this year’s tournament will again not take place at Whitsun, but one week earlier on Ascensions Day. The tournament starts on May 10th at the two preliminary locations of co-partners SuS Holzhausen and Viktoria Lavelsloh. On Friday the happenings change to the main stage in Stemwede-Wehdem were the premilinary games will be finished and the final matches will take place. Traditional starting point of the tournament is the penalty shootout of local guests and teams on Wednesday the 9th ending with the typical kick-off party in the pavilion afterwards.

(Preliminary on May 10th in Lavelsloh) 

Red Bull Brasil (Brazil)
Glasgow Rangers (Scotland)
Fulham FC (England)
Hamburger SV

(Preliminary on May 10th in Pr. Oldendorf-Bad Holzhausen)

Tottenham Hotspur (England)
Lokomotive Moskau (Russia)
SV Werder Bremen
VfB Stuttgart
SV Rödinghausen

Leave a Reply